Rainbows


The Rainbow set as the symbol of the Covenant ...

Image via Wikipedia

What is a rainbow? A rainbow is God’s promise to mankind that never again would he flood the world to destroy all creatures. I know we have all heard the stories of pots of gold at the end of the rainbow, but the truth is far greater. At the end of each rainbow is a promise from God. Each time he places a rainbow on the earth for us to view it is God sending us a sign. I don’t know if anyone else has ever noticed this, but usually rainbows are accompanied by a ray of sunshine. Light has always been a symbol for good things. throughout the bible.

Genesis 1:3-4 states: “3Then God said, “Let there be light”; and there was light. 4And God saw the light, that it was good; and God divided the light from the darkness.”

So even though it may rain or your parade sometimes, look for the rainbows. Its a wonderful chance to speak to God. Take a look at Genesis 9:11-17

11Thus I establish My covenant with you: Never again shall all flesh be cut off by the waters of the flood; never again shall there be a flood to destroy the earth.”
12And God said: “This is the sign of the covenant which I make between Me and you, and every living creature that is with you, for perpetual generations: 13I set My rainbow in the cloud, and it shall be for the sign of the covenant between Me and the earth. 14It shall be, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the rainbow shall be seen in the cloud; 15and I will remember My covenant which is between Me and you and every living creature of all flesh; the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh. 16The rainbow shall be in the cloud, and I will look on it to remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.” 17And God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant which I have established between Me and all flesh that is on the earth.”          NKJV

 So next time when you see a rainbow, stop and remember God’s promise instead of complaining about all the rain.

Have a wonderful day, and remember that God keeps promises.

About Jennifer Judkins

Recently saved Easter 2011, Jesus has changed my life forever. Now I seek to share that joy with the world. I may not have all the answers, but certainly like everyone I have questions. Jesus has inspired and changed my life, and now I seek to inspire others through Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Inspirational Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rainbows

  1. ~jOyce says:

    Love this post. The first time I saw a rainbow after studying these Bible verses (which was somewhere at the end of 2011) I kept holding back tears.

    • Thanks for the comments! Its amazing isn’t it, all the little things in life that we never stop to realize the greater meaning they hold. Sometimes we take for granted all the “normal” things.

  2. Pingback: 2/26/2012 Remember the Everlasting Covenant | ForeWords

Leave a Reply

